Care Health

Prioritize Healthy life

HJ23 conference fellows announced | Association of Health Care Journalists

HJ23 conference fellows announced | Association of Health Care Journalists
HJ23 conference fellows announced | Association of Health Care Journalists

Photo by Andrea WanerAttendees enjoying lunch during HJ22 in Austin, Texas.

With the support of AHCJ’s generous funders, financial assistance will be provided to more than 60 journalists to attend Health Journalism 2023 in St. Louis from March 9-12, 2023. 

Typically, conference fellowships are place-based and open to full-time print, broadcast and online journalists, as well as part-timers or freelancers who derive the majority of their income from journalism. 

Congratulations to the HJ23 fellows!

AHCJ-California Health Journalism fellows (supported by the California Health Care Foundation)

  • Maia Anderson, Healthcare Brew reporter, Morning Brew
  • Minerva Canto, editorial writer, Los Angeles Times 
  • Cheryl Clark, contract writer, MedPage Today
  • April Dembosky, health correspondent, KQED Public Radio
  • Jake Harper, investigative health/data reporter, inewsource
  • Anne Marshall-Chalmers, independent journalist
  • Usha Lee McFarling, national science correspondent, STAT
  • Taylor Majewski, independent journalist
  • Julia Métraux, independent journalist
  • Stephanie O’Neill, independent journalist
  • Barbara Feder Ostrov, editorial director, business of medicine, Medscape/WebMD
  • William Remak, executive director, California Hepatitis C Task Force
  • Brian Rinker, independent journalist
  • Paul Sisson, health care reporter, The San Diego Union-Tribune
  • David Tuller, senior fellow in public health and journalism, Center for Global Public Health; University of California, Berkeley
  • Laurie Udesky, independent journalist
  •  Kate Wolffe, health care reporter, CapRadio

AHCJ-Great Lakes Health Journalism fellows (supported by The Joyce Foundation)

  • Jonmaesha Beltran, Roy W. Howard Investigative fellow, Wisconsin Watch/News 414 
  • Katrina Pross, criminal justice reporter, WFYI Public Media
  • Jackie Serrato, editor-in-chief, South Side Weekly
  • Molly Work, investigative reporter, Post Bulletin

AHCJ-Missouri Health Journalism fellows 

  • Meg Cunningham, Missouri statehouse reporter, The Kansas City Beacon
  • Melinda Hemmelgarn, registered dietitian, radio host, independent journalist
  • Katie Quinn, student reporter, KBIA
  • Rebecca Smith, health reporter and producer, KBIA
  • Noah Taborda, health reporter, KCUR

AHCJ-New York Health Journalism fellows (supported by the Health Foundation for Western and Central New York)

  • Tracey Drury, reporter, Buffalo Business First/American City Business Journals
  • Jon Harris, business of health care reporter, The Buffalo News
  • Megan Lambrych, Health and fitness journalist, Healthnews
  • Antonio Flores Villalobos, host and producer, Mochilero at Radio Kingston

AHCJ-Rhode Island Health Journalism fellows (supported by the Rhode Island Foundation)

  • Lynn Arditi, health reporter, The Public’s Radio 
  • Vishal Khetpal,  M.D., M.Sc., resident physician and essayist 
  • Janine Weisman, Rhode Island editor-in-chief, States Newsroom

AHCJ-Texas Health Journalism fellows (supported by the Episcopal Health Foundation, St. David’s Foundation, Arnold Ventures and Methodist Healthcare Ministries)

  • Alexis Allison, health reporter, Fort Worth Report
  • Courtney Battaglia, independent journalist
  • Mary Cantrell, reporter, The Big Bend Sentinel Newspaper
  • Lauren Caruba, investigative reporter, Dallas Morning News
  • Jennifer Edwards, professor of communication, Tarleton State University
  • Rachel Fairback, independent journalist
  • Kim Krisberg, contributing writer, Public Health Watch
  • Ruth Nasrullah, independent journalist
  • Frieda Wiley, independent journalist
  • Marin Wolf, health care reporter, The Dallas Morning New

AHCJ-Academic Health Journalism fellows (supported by The Leona and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust)

  • Georgina Jimenez, New York University
  • Yanick Rice Lamb, professor, Howard University
  • Calli McMurray, student, New York University
  • Tadeo Ruiz Sandoval, student reporter/producer, KBIA
  • Keshondra Shipp, student, reporter, The University of Georgia/ The Red & Black

AHCJ-Ethnic Health Journalism fellows (supported by The Leona and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust)

  • Katherine Gilyard, editorial fellow, The 19th News
  • Antonia Gonzales, managing editor, Koahnic Broadcast Corporation
  • Renata Hill, publisher journalist, Moodfuel News
  • Rhonda LeValdo, reporter, National Native News
  • Wynfred Russell, director of health equity, ACER, Inc.

AHCJ-Freelance Travel Scholarship (supported by The Leona and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust)

  • Eli Cahan, independent journalist
  • Saugat Bolakhe, independent journalist and graduate student, CUNY University of New York

AHCJ-Rural Health Journalism fellows (supported by The Leona and Harry B. Helmsley Charitable Trust)

  • Aaron Bolton, Northwest Montana and Statewide health care reporter, Montana Public Radio
  • Natalie Krebs, health reporter, Iowa Public Radio
  • Allen Siegler, public health reporter, Mountain State Spotlight
  • Mara Silvers, health and human services reporter, Montana Free Press
  • Jake Thomas, senior reporter, The Lund Report
  • Yanqi Xu, reporter, Flatwater Free Press